Password protect or private document

I couldn’t find this being mentioned but…

I think it would be cool if there was an option to add an additional layer of security to a document or folder.

For example, a Journal folder, access folder you’d need to supply a PIN or password to view the documents in there.

Here is the use case for me… I leave Dynalist open all day, using it primarily for work. But I would like to write blog or journal entries in it as well. I don’t like the idea of someone possibly sitting down at my desk and opening one of my documents.

10 Likes

With all due respect Adam… as an IT admin, I dislike you :wink:

You should always always lock your computer anytime you step away from it. Not just for your dynalist notes, but access to your e-mail and other confidential information (eg password resets?). I work from home in my office alone in the basement and I still lock my computer if I get up from my desk.

If you require a PIN or password, put it in and then leave that open when you walk away from your desk, they can still access those documents. That really isn’t any different security than just closing Dynalist before walking away from your desk. I think in this case all it would serve to do is give you a false sense of security for those journal documents.

Respectfully,

Matthew

3 Likes

yeah I feel ya. Admittingly this must stem from paranoia. I do lock my desktop 99% of the time, and if not it automatically happens in five minutes.

1 Like

Windows Logo Key/Super + L is how you can lock it on some systems, for whoever is reading this and doesn’t know.

I like this idea, but having some level of encryption to where even Dynalist couldn’t read the document would be even better.

I sometimes remind myself that if I trip and fall into a coma, it’d be best to have my computer locked.

2 Likes

I do lock my laptop but would still like the option to lock a folder or document as an additional layer of security. Call me paranoid… :slight_smile: