Auto-focus doesn't work for saved searches

Steps to reproduce

1. Enable “Auto-focus on first item” in preferences
  2. Open a saved search via CMD+O

Expected result

The first result of the saved search should be selected and ready to be modified.

Actual result

Nothing is selected - there is no way to get to the items with keyboard-only.

Environment

Which operating system are you using? MacOS 10.15.1 (19B88)
Which browser are you using? Brave, but I’ve tested in the desktop app
If you’re using a desktop or mobile app, what’s the version number of Dynalist? 1.2.3
Are you using any third-party scripts for Dynalist, e.g. PowerPack? no

Additional information

N/A

Additional comments

As a developer I love to use my system keyboard only. As I use saved searches in Dynalist countless times every day this issue forces me to always pick-up my mouse thereby interrupting flow.

I’m a bit torn by this because when you focus on a search item, the search highlight disappears and you’re left not knowing which part matched your search result. That means auto-focusing the first search result may be unwanted.

Perhaps focusing on the title (or current zoom item) instead of the first result would be a better implementation as an exception?

I am not sure I follow: What do you mean by “search highlight”? I also don’t understand your proposed alternative: would you mind posting a screenshot?

I am still new to Dynalist, so I just might not be aware of the whole Dynalist lingo. :sweat_smile:

This is what I mean by search highlight:

If you focus on the item, the highlight disappears, becoming like this:

The alternative would be to focus up top instead:

Oh, I might talk about different thing then:

I am referring to bookmarked searches - the (global) search queries which you can give a name and then you can open them by that name via CMD+O or the bookmark sidebar.