Usages of Tagging in Dynalist

Hey everyone,

I find tagging to be a fascinating tool, so I created a document dedicated to collecting different ways it can be used in Dynalist.

Check it out here.

Currently, it’s just a couple of my own usages. But I’d like to incorporate the ideas of others too. How do you use tags?

If you use the format I used in my list, I can easily put it in:

• Description
  • Instructions
  • Example

Please share any other feedback about the list! I want this to be accessible and useful to others.

11 Likes

Excellent list! I think that covered all my usages of tags :slight_smile:

A small benefit of tag that I especially appreciate: it makes typo impossible within the tags. I type fast and often make typos. With tags they auto-complete so it’s even faster (especially for longer tags) and they’re always typo free (unless you made a typo in the first tag!).

3 Likes

Another user (I’m not good with names, but the profile pic comes to mind) shared the brilliant idea of using date tags for things like journals.

E.g. #Y3Y4MMDD So today’s (US) tag would be: #170203

2 Likes

It is also important to note (for whoever is reading this) that tags aren’t global yet, so suggestions don’t appear a new document until they’ve been “recreated”.

1 Like

Very useful guide. Thanks. I’m new to Dynalist, but have used WorkFlowy, Evernote and a who bunch of different tools in the past. I was about to post a question about the difference between # and @ in Dynalist. As far as I can see functionally they are equivalent, so it’s up to you which you use. Is that correct?

If that’s the case it occurs to me that you can use # and @ for different purposes. If you, for instance, use a Kanban type system you could have @backlog, @ready, @doing and @waiting to stage items; and use the # tag to organise more by context and subject e.g. #home, #work, #project, etc. Is that a sensible idea? Any thoughts much appreciates…

2 Likes