Hidden Tags

My list is getting very cluttered with tags that I don’t generally want to see. The only reason they are there is to control which searches it shows up in. But Dynalist offers no way to deal with this. Even if I put the tag in the notes and I turn notes view off, Dynalist automatically shows me the note and highlights the tag I searched for.

Basically I am not searching for the tag itself, I am only searching for the item that contains the tag. I would be able to keep my list more cleaned up if I could either give my item a hidden tag, or at least have the option to keep notes closed even if they contain search terms.

5 Likes

I would love this feature. I often don’t want to see my tags except when I’m editing an item. I’d like to be able to toggle this option to show/hide tags. I think they should appear if you start editing an item though.

Is this feature on the roadmap, and is there a way to vote for it other then clicking on the heart icon? I’m new to Dynalist and don’t know how to vote for features.

My family members refused to even try Dynalist because when I demo’d it to them, my items were all cluttered with tags. It’s true you don’t need to use tags, but that is the most powerful feature and the reason I switched to Dynalist from other outlining programs. Please consider this feature. Or maybe there’s a way to do this already? Perhaps you can make the style the same as the background color but that seems like it would interfere with editing tags.

Thanks.

3 Likes

Not sure if I’m following, this is what I understand so far: you guys have a lot of tags in notes, and when you search they all pop up. Is that the problem…?

I think a more concrete solution to what I was describing here could be to somehow allow tags to be placed in a separate column. Still associated with a single item but visually separated and not part of the main item content. Seems like a tall order though… maybe there is a better way.

1 Like